Breaking News

The United Nations Organizations (UNO)

The United Nations Organizations (UNO)

The United Nations Organizations (UNO) was founded in 1945. After completion of the Second World War 51 Countries formed as an Association named UNO. The United Nations Organization main function is to maintain global peace and security among countries, Social Advancement, Human Rights, Harmonizing the Actions of Nations .
united-nations-organizationsMain Functions Of UNO:

» International peace and security maintaining
» To focus on keeping up global peace and security
» Developing friendly relations among countries
» Promoting social advancement
» Maintaining of better living standards and human rights
» United Nations will be a center  for harmonizing the actions of nations to achieve all the above goals.
» United Nations provides a forum for its 193 member states all their views.
» It reaches every part of the world

Other General Information About United Nations

United Nations Day: 24 October.
Franklin D. Roosevelt the United States President coined the name “United Nations”.
United Nations forerunner was the ‘League of Nations’ this is an organization established during the First World War in 1919 under the Treaty of Versatile.
In the year 1945, the representatives belong to 50 countries met at the United Nations Conference on International Organization in San Francisco to form the United Nations Charter.
The Charter was signed on 26 June 1945 by the delegates of the 50 countries. Poland signed it later and became one of the first 51 Member States.

Main Bodies UNO :
1. General Assembly:
2. Security Council:
3. Economic and Social Council
4. Trusteeship Council
5. International Court of Justice
6. Secretariat
7. Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs

1. General Assembly:

The General Assembly is the main organ of the UN and contains of all the 193 Member States representatives. The work of the United Nations year-round derives largely from the mandates given by the General Assembly.

⇒The United Nations 193 Member States

2. Security Council:

The Security Council maintains the international peace and security. A reform of the Security Council, including its membership is under consideration. Security Council is composed of permanent members 5 and non-permanent members 10.

⇒ Security Council:  Permanent Members 5 And Non-Permanent Members 10

3. The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC):

UN Charter Established ECOSOC. It coordinates the economic, social and related work of the UN and the specialized agencies and institutions.  IT contains 54 members. Each member contains single vote. Voting is by simple majority.

⇒ Economic and Social Council: 54 members

4. The International Court of Justice:

The International Court of Justice, located at The Hague in the Netherlands. It is the main judicial organ of the United Nations. International Court of Justice has 15 judges.

⇒ International Court of Justice: 15 judges

5. Secretariat:

The Secretariat performs the day-to-day work of the Organization.
It services the other principal organs.
Carries out tasks as varied as the issues dealt with by the UN: administering surveying economic, peacekeeping operations and social trends.
Prepares studies on human rights.

6. The Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs:

The Repertory of Practice of United Nations Organs is a legal publication containing analytical studies of the decisions of the principal organs of the United Nations. It is a comprehensive summary of the decisions of United Nations Organs and serves to throw light on questions of application and interpretation of the UN Charter in practice.

The Other Important Information about The United Nations Organizations

⇔ UNO-Former Secretaries-General

⇔ Other United Nations Organizations Main Bodies

Leave a Reply

shared on