Breaking News

Indian Prime Ministers List and Their Details

Indian Prime Ministers List and Their Details

In 1947 India gained independence, from 1947 August 15th to till date India has seen 15 members as the Prime ministers, The Prime Minister of India is the Chief Executive of the Government of India. The 1st prime minister of India was Jawaharlal Nehru from Indian National Congress party. Here we have provided Indian Prime ministers List and their time period and details.

No Image Prime Minister Time Period Party Remarks
1 jawahar-lal-nehru-jobway-education Jawaharlal Nehru August 15th 1947 – May 27th 196416 years, 286 days Indian National Congress 1. 1st PrimeMinister of India2. Reform the ancient Hindu civil code
2 Gulzarilal_Nanda-2nd-indian-prime-minister Gulzarilaa Nanda May 27th 1964 – June 9th 196413 days  Indian National Congress  1. 1st Interim Prime Minister
2. Secialised in Labour Issues
3 Kal-bahadur-shastri La Bahadur Shastri June 9th 1964 – 11th January 19661 year, 216 days  Indian National Congress  1. gave the slogan “Jai Jawan jai Kisan”
2. promoted “White Revolution” to increase the pproduction of milk
4 Gulzarilal_Nanda-2nd-indian-prime-minister Gulzarilal Nanda January 11th 1966 – January 24th 196613 days  Indian National Congress  1. awarded bharat ratna in 1997
5 Indira_Gandhi Indira Gandhi  January 24th 1966 – March 24th 197711 years, 59 days  Indian National Congress  1. 1st women Prime Minister
2. Longest Serving women PM
6 Morarji_Desai Morarji Desai March 24th 1977 – July 28th 19792 years, 126 days  Janatha Party  1. Played imortant role in Indian nuclear program
2. awarded “Nishan-e-pakisthan” in 1990
7 Charan_Singh Charan Singh July 28th 1979 – January 14th 1980170 days  Janatha Party (Secular)  1. Revenue minister of UP
2. Removed Zamindari System and brought in Land Reform Acts.
8 Indira_Gandhi Indira Gandhi  January 14th 1980 – October 31st 19844 years, 291 days  Indian National Congress  1. India win over pakisthan in 1971 with her Courage.
2. Improved international relationships.
9 Rajiv_Gandhi Rajiv Gandhi October 31st 1984 – December 2nd 19895 years, 32 days Indian National Congress  1. Played a key role in Bringing Computers to India
2. Exanded Economic Cooperation.
10 Viswanath pratap Singh Viswanath pratap Singh December 2nd 1989 – November 10th 1990343 days  Janatha Dal 1. Improve the condition of Poor people
11 Chandra_Shekhar-prime-minister Chandra Shekar November 10th 1990 – June 21st 1991223 days  Samajwadi Janatha Party 1. He was called “Young Turk”
2. Played a vital role in nationalisation Banks.
12 P_V_Narasimha_Rao P.V. Narasimharao  June 21st 1991 – May 16th 19964 years, 330 days Indian National Congress 1. He was called father of Indian Economic Reforms.
2. He dismantled the License Raj.
13 Atal_Bihari_Vajpayee Atal Bihari Vajpayee May 16th 1996 – June 1st 199613 days  Bharatiya janata party 1. worked on economic reforms
2. played a wide role in Telecom Industry.
14 H-d-deve-gowda H.D. Deve Gowda  June 1st 1996 – April 21st 1997324 days Janata Dal 1. brought foreign investment to the State
2. elected to 10th loksabha in 1991.
15 Inder_Kumar_Gujral I.K.Gujral April 21st 1997 – March 19th 1998332 days  Janata Dal 1. participated in Indian Independence movement.
2. jailed in 1942 during the Quit India Movement.
16 Atal_Bihari_Vajpayee Atal Bihari Vajpayee March 19th 1998 – May 22nd 20046 years, 64 days  Bharatiya Janata Party 1. India pakisthan relationship got better in his period
2. served for rural India
17 Manmohan_Singh Manmohan Singh May 22nd 2004 – May 26th 201410 years, 4 days  Indian National Congress 1. worked on reform banking and financial sector
2. played key role on pro-industry policies.
18 Narendra_Damodardas_Modi-Narendra Modi Narendra Modi  May 26th 2014 – Till Date0 years, 206 days  Bharatiya Janatha Party 1. introduced Jan Dhan Yojana, Swachh Bharat Abhiyan.2. worked on clean ganga project


Comments are closed.

shared on